COMPARISON

App Store Screenshot Generators Compared (2026)

Four of these seven tools write your screenshot copy — ShotQuill, AppLaunchFlow, Launch Shots and AppScreens (Pro only). The other three frame images you have already designed. Launch Shots has the only free tier that exports without a watermark, at one set per month. ShotQuill is the only one that is Apple App Store and iPhone only, and the only one charging a one-time $19 per app rather than selling a time-limited pass.

By Joey Chang, solo builder · Last updated

What each tool actually does

The dividing line: generate the copy, or frame images you already made. Vendor-published specs, checked 21 September 2026.
ToolWrites the copy?ASO text + keywords?Stores
ShotQuillYes — all 6 slidesYes — description + keyword listApple App Store (iPhone only)
AppLaunchFlowYes — captions + layoutsYes — descriptions + keywordsApp Store, Play, iPad, Mac
Launch ShotsYes — headline + 3 art directionsASO console includedApp Store, Play, feature graphic
AppScreensYes — but Pro plan onlyCaptions onlyApp Store, Play, 80+ languages
AppLaunchpadNo — you write itNoApp Store, Play, iPhone/iPad/Android
ScreenhanceNo — you write itNoApp Store, Play, plus mockups and print
PreviewedNo — mockups onlyNoiOS, Android, Mac, social

That first column is the only distinction that changes your workflow. If a tool does not write the copy, you still need to decide what six headlines say before the tool is any use — which is usually the part that takes the afternoon, not the resizing.

What the free tiers actually allow

Free-tier limits as published by each vendor, 21 September 2026. "Not verified" means the vendor does not state it publicly and the editor is behind a signup wall.
ToolFree tierWatermark?
Launch Shots1 full set per month, 3 languages, full ASO consoleNo watermark
ShotQuillUnlimited exports, all 6 templates, all 4 sizesWatermarked
PreviewedUnlimited 2D exports at 720pAttribution required
Screenhance3 exports per monthWatermarked
AppScreens1 project, up to 5 screenshots, 0 localizations, no AI captionsNot verified
AppLaunchFlow1 workspace, preview-only exportsPreview only
AppLaunchpadNot verified — editor is behind signupNot verified

Read "unlimited" carefully in two of these rows. ShotQuill's free exports are genuinely unlimited but every image carries a watermark, so the ceiling is evaluation, not shipping. Previewed's are unlimited at 720p with Creative Commons attribution, which is below every App Store size — also evaluation, not shipping. Launch Shots is the only free tier here that produces a file you could actually upload.

Where ShotQuill loses

Listing this is more useful to you than another feature grid, and every item is a real gap rather than a roadmap promise.

GapWho does it instead
No Google Play or Android sizesAll six others
No iPad sizesAppLaunchpad, AppLaunchFlow, AppScreens, Previewed
No direct upload to App Store ConnectAppScreens, Launch Shots
Localization limited to a 4-language batch exportAppScreens (80+ locales), Launch Shots (84 store languages)
6 templates, 4 device sizes, no blank canvasAppLaunchpad (1000+ templates), AppScreens (150+ sets)
No motion, video or 3D outputScreenhance, Previewed
No refundsVendors operating from the US typically offer them

The honest summary: if you need Android, iPad, deep localization or store publishing, four of the tools above cover more ground than ShotQuill does. ShotQuill is narrower on purpose — it writes the copy for an iPhone-only App Store set and stops there.

How to pick

  1. Do you already know what your six headlines say? If yes, a framing tool — AppLaunchpad, Screenhance, Previewed — is cheaper and gives you more layout freedom.
  2. Do you need Android or iPad in the same pass? Rule out ShotQuill; look at AppLaunchFlow or AppScreens.
  3. Do you ship in more than a handful of languages? AppScreens (80+ locales) or Launch Shots (84) are the only serious answers.
  4. Do you want files uploaded to the stores for you? AppScreens or Launch Shots.
  5. Launching one iPhone app and stuck on the copy? That is the case ShotQuill is built for — $19 once, copy and ASO text included.

How this comparison was made

Every cell above comes from the vendor's own public pricing or feature page, read on 21 September 2026. These are published specifications, not hands-on test results, and they are the vendor's claims about their own product.

Hands-on testing was attempted and did not get far: all seven tools, ShotQuill included, put the editor behind an account. AppLaunchpad's "Get Started for Free" button navigates straight to a sign-in form. Completing signups across six services requires receiving verification email at six inboxes, so the comparison stops at published specs rather than pretending otherwise.

Cells marked "Not verified" are ones the vendor does not state publicly. They are left unverified rather than estimated. If you spot something out of date, the email on the about page reaches the person who wrote this.

Questions

Which App Store screenshot generators actually write the copy?

Four of the seven: ShotQuill, AppLaunchFlow, Launch Shots, and AppScreens (Pro plan only). AppLaunchpad, Screenhance and Previewed frame screenshots you have already designed — you supply the headlines.

Which one is free without a watermark?

Launch Shots is the only one whose free tier exports without a watermark, limited to one full set per month. ShotQuill and Screenhance watermark free exports; Previewed requires Creative Commons attribution instead.

Which tools upload straight to App Store Connect?

AppScreens and Launch Shots publish directly to the stores on paid plans. The rest export files you upload yourself.

Which tools also cover Google Play and Android?

AppLaunchpad, Screenhance, AppLaunchFlow, Launch Shots, AppScreens and Previewed all cover Android. ShotQuill does not — it is Apple App Store only.

Do any of them let you try the editor without signing up?

None of the seven. Every tool in this comparison puts its editor behind an account, ShotQuill included.

Sources